The Humane Hierarchy, Part 1 of 2: Overview

eileenanddogs

I am a Humane Hierarchy trainer. That is the name of the roadmap I use to make ethical choices about the training methods I use. I’m going to describe the method in this post.

(Humane Hierarchy Part 2, which is now also published, comprises real world examples of all the methods in the Hierarchy.)

I don’t call myself a clicker trainer, although I have used one, nor do I call myself a force-free trainer, although that is certainly a goal, nor do I call myself “all positive,” since that could include positive reinforcement and punishment both. I do use the first two terms, along with several others, to refer casually to trainers who use those names and have similar goals to mine.

But the Humane Hierarchy is a concept I love, and a name I take on for myself comfortably and with pride. And I was born a…

View original post 1,034 more words

Leave a Reply

